State lifts burn ban in Kittitas County

STATE DEPARTMENT OF ECOLOGY NEWS RELEASE -- A Stage 1 burn ban in Kittitas, Chelan, Douglas, Okanogan, Ferry, Stevens, Pend Oreille, Asotin and Walla Walla counties expires at 4 p.m., Dec. 30, as scheduled according to the Washington Department of Ecology (Ecology).

Stage 1 bans prohibit use of uncertified wood-burning devices (including wood stoves, inserts and fireplaces) and all outdoor burning unless they are a home's only adequate source of heat.

By limiting burning and following restrictions when burn bans are called, residents can help improve air quality sooner.

Fine particles in smoke are so small they can easily get into your lungs. Once there, they can cause heart and breathing problems, and even death. Children, people with asthma and respiratory illnesses, and adults older than 65 are most at risk.